Funds and trackers


Six steps to recession-proof your investments

With all signs pointing to the fact that the UK is heading towards a recession and the Bank of England warning that it will be...

Thu, 30/04/2020 - 12:46


AJ Bell Income and Growth fund update – plugging the (income) gap

To all investors seeking an income, the hit from COVID-19 has come quick and hard. Old rules of thumb have been upended. Governments and central...

Thu, 23/04/2020 - 11:06


Which capital preservation funds delivered in the market falls?

In very rocky markets capital preservation funds will aim to reduce investors’ losses and while they don’t guarantee to keep your money growing, you’d expect...

Thu, 16/04/2020 - 16:17


Changes to the AJ Bell Favourite funds and Ready-made portfolios

Part of my role as Head of Active Portfolios here at AJ Bell is to ensure that funds on the Favourite fund list are kept...

Wed, 01/04/2020 - 08:57


The market sell-off in context

On Thursday 12 March, the FTSE 100 index fell by over 10% – the largest single-day move since the financial crisis of 1987. It is...

Tue, 17/03/2020 - 13:09


ISA investing in the face of Coronavirus

A third day of gains for the FTSE 100 this week will be welcome relief for investors but the rebound only makes up a small...

Wed, 04/03/2020 - 12:23


AJ Bell funds asset allocation update

Each January, we review the asset allocation of the AJ Bell growth funds. This process sees us assess the expected returns and risks of the...

Tue, 03/03/2020 - 16:57


Beware the (income) trap

The ETF juggernaut continued in 2019, passing through the $6 trillion mark. No active, open-end fund manager appears to be shielded from this growth, with...

Thu, 13/02/2020 - 14:49


Revamped Woodford fund to re-open tomorrow

The new ASI Income Focus fund (previously Woodford Income Focus) reopens tomorrow with investors able to place trades from mid-day today. Read the...

Wed, 12/02/2020 - 12:33


The funds hit hardest by Coronavirus

Ryan Hughes, AJ Bell's Head of Active Portfolios, looks at the worst performing funds from Asia, China, Emerging Markets and Global sectors so far this...

Thu, 06/02/2020 - 16:45


Pages