Account security

To ensure your account is secure we have a number of security features. Your security is important to us and we want you to be able to invest with us safe in the knowledge that you and your money are protected.

To log in to your account you need three separate bits of information:

  • Your username
  • Your password
  • The answer to the security question you have chosen

We will only ever ask you to enter three characters from your password and the security question you have selected will always be shown. You will never need to enter or tell us your full password.

If you notice anything different on the log in page or you are asked to enter your full password, don’t proceed but contact us.

For your safety we will never link you directly to the log in page from an email.

If your password and/or the answer to your security question have been entered incorrectly three times your account will be locked. This is to stop a fraudster trying multiple combinations until they successfully access your account. If you lock your account by mistake don’t worry – just call us on 0345 54 32 600 and we’ll unlock it after we have verified your identity.

Logging out

You should always log out when you have finished using your account and close your session.

If you are logged in to your account but have not made any keystrokes in the past 15 minutes we will automatically log you out of your account. This means, even if you forget to log out, your session won’t remain open, preventing someone else misusing your account.

Find out more about how to protect yourself and your account.

We are pleased to be one of the first investment platforms in the UK to offer you the choice of adding two-factor authentication to further safeguard access to your account.

Our two-factor authentication log in combines what you know - your existing login details - with something you physically have access to - your smartphone. You may already be using multi-factor authentication with your online banking and services such as PayPal and Gmail.

How it works

  1. Whenever you log in to our website you'll enter your username, random three characters from your password and secret answer as usual.
  2. You'll then be asked for a code which you can generate using the AJ Bell Youinvest iOS app or a range of supported apps for iOS, Android and Windows phone.

To use this service please log in to your account and choose ‘Two-factor authentication’ from the my account menu. Before you set up two-factor authentication you must have downloaded the latest version of the AJ Bell Youinvest app from the app store or have a supported two-factor app available on your phone.

A supported update to our Android app is coming shortly.

Secure SSL

We use secure 256 bit encryption on our website, as indicated by the padlock at the top of the screen.

Unless you are using an older browser you will also see the website address bar is green. This indicates that we have a secure website certificate in place and you are on a genuine, secure site.

When you use your debit card to pay money into your AJ Bell Youinvest account we use a secure system called SagePay. You will be transferred to the SagePay site to enter your debit card details. We do not access or store these details.

Phone

If you contact us by phone we will always ask you to identify yourself by asking you for the information you gave us when you opened your account. We will never discuss the details of your account without verifying first that we are speaking to you or your appointed representative.

Web chat

Our website has a web chat facility. We are only able to answer general queries through web chat as we have not verified your details – if your query is about your account we’ll ask you to phone us or send us a secure message.

Secure message

You can contact us by secure message which is a message direct from your account and ensures the message does not go outside our secure network. It is easy to send a secure message; simply log in to your account and click secure messaging on the ‘My account’ menu. Here, you can view messages we have sent you, or send us a message by clicking on ‘New message’, then write your message and click ‘Submit’.