Rio Tinto to appoint three new independent directors

Rio Tinto is appointing three energy-industry heavyweights as independent non-executive directors to the boards of Rio Tinto Plc and Rio Tinto Ltd.

Former Sasol Ltd CEO David Constable and former Centrica Plc CEO Sam Laidlaw would be appointed with immediate effect. Royal Dutch Shell Plc CFO Simon Henry would join the board from July 1, 2017.

Non-executive directors Robert Brown and Anne Lauvergeon had indicated their intention to step down from the board at the Rio Tinto Ltd AGM on May 4.